Accounting Services

Accounting Services provides financial services and management for UW-Madison, including the processing and reporting of accounting data. The department develops and implements financial policies and procedures for university-wide business processes for compliance with tax laws and other Federal and State regulations.

Services provided

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

Accounting and Budget Control Functions

Accounting Services maintains an accounting and budget control system for UW–Madison and participates in financial decisions regarding accounting and budget control. The system records budgets, encumbrances, receipts and disbursements and generates various reports for UW System Administration and State and Federal agencies. Accounting Services maintains the General Ledger and transaction information, prepares and distributes checks, and performs any necessary tax withholding and reporting.

Accounts Payable Function

For UW–Madison, this service includes travel, invoice audit, and payment approval processing, and working closely with Purchasing Services in the design of policies and procedures which affect the accounting for purchasing transactions. The Purchasing Card and Travel Card programs are part of this function.

Contingent Fund Services

Accounting Services writes contingent fund checks for emergency transactions at UW–Madison. The fund is also used for issuing Non-Travel Cash Advances for UW–Madison programs.

Receipt Processing Functions

Accounting Services uses the Decentralized Revenue Entry system to record the distribution of receipts, sales credits and refund of disbursement transactions to revenue codes and accounts for UW–Madison.

For UW–Madison, Accounting Services develops and implements policies and procedures to be used in depositing receipts, accounting for cash and maintaining banking relations, and reconciliation of our bank accounts.

Payment Disbursement

Checks are the form of payment to vendors and employees for non-salary payments. We also supply same-day emergency transaction payments when necessary. Along with our payment process we can, when required, process foreign drafts, wire transfers, and ACH payments.

Accounts Receivable Services

Accounting Services maintains the General Accounts Receivable (GAR) System, which provides billing services for Research and Sponsored Programs (RSP) at UW–Madison. It also provides accounts receivable consulting services, write-off approval, and limited collection services for UW–Madison units that sell goods and services.

Reconciliation Services

Accounting Services reconciles the Legacy accounting information to the Shared Financial System (SFS), the SFS to WISDM, and the data access information on a daily basis.

Annual Financial Reporting

Accounting Services assembles required UW–Madison information for the preparation of the UW System and State of Wisconsin GAAP Financial Statements.

Access to data

Accounting Services provides data access to all the information processed. This access is web-based WISDM/WISER inquiries and SQL queries of the accounting data warehouse.

Travel, Card, and Reimbursement

Assists UW Staff on planning business trips, and determining the best options for transportation and lodging. Also provides reimbursement services.

Property Control

Property Control records and maintains information about UW–Madison capital equipment acquisitions, both Federally and University titled, following University, State and Federal property guidelines. Equipment information, including item description as well as financial data, is stored in a centralized database for ease in reporting and to provide accessibility for all Madison departments.

Leadership

Lea Erickson

Position title: Director of Financial Information Management

Email: lea.erickson@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 890-1765

Nicki Burton

Position title: Director of Disbursement Services

Email: nburton2@wisc.edu

Financial Information Management staff

Accounts Receivable and Billing

Erica Boutelle

Position title: Accountant I

Email: erica.boutelle@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-6580

Tricia Johnson

Position title: Finance Associate Director - Non-Sponsored Accounts Receivable & Billing

Email: tricia.johnson@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 890-1328

Shauna Schwantes

Position title: Accountant III

Email: shauna.schwantes@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-4018

Capital Equipment

Jill Coburn

Position title: Accountant III

Email: jill.coburn@wisc.edu

Connie Jump

Position title: Accountant III

Email: connie.jump@wisc.edu

Cha Ying Lor

Position title: Finance Associate Director - Property Accounting

Email: chaying.lor@wisc.edu

Zhengyu Pei

Position title: Accountant I

Email: zhengyu.pei@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-3474

Yuan Zhang

Position title: Accountant III

Email: yuan.zhang@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-5315

Cash Management

Asim Batajoo

Position title: Accountant III

Email: asim.batajoo@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 265-4211

Gian Compuesto

Position title: Accountant III

Email: gian.compuesto@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-6874

Janet Hamm

Position title: Compliance Specialist II

Email: janet.hamm@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 265-2909

Omar Siddiqi

Position title: Finance Associate Director - Cash Management

Email: omar.siddiqi@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-7461

Janice Verhelst

Position title: Accountant IV

Email: janice.verhelst@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 265-6182

Financial Reporting and Taxes

Jose Carus Jr.

Position title: Compliance Administrator

Email: jose.carus@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-0582

April Cook

Position title: Finance Associate Director - Financial Reporting, Analysis, and Systems

Email: april.cook@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-0726

Oscar Garcia Romero

Position title: Accountant III

Email: garciaromero@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-8773

John Jameson

Position title: Accountant IV

Email: john.jameson@wisc.edu

Aaron Ranke

Position title: Accountant IV

Email: ranke@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 265-0834

Mary Rickard

Position title: Accountant IV

Email: merickard@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 265-3679

Emily Von Haden

Position title: Accountant III

Email: emily.vonhaden@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-7666

Disbursement Services Staff

Disbursement Administration

wdt_ID Staff Name Disbursement Administration Duties
2 Denise McDearmon Associate Director
3 Spencer Stagman Supervisor - Payments & Vendor Relations
4 Emma Nametz Accountant I
6 Sean Kirkeng Accountant III
10 Roseanne Hatfield Payment Creation
11 Amanda Walker Supplier File Administration
12 Bobbie Egeston Supplier File Administration
13 Astoria Goldsby Supplier File Administration
14 Shanon Chew Supplier File Administration
15 Emma (EB) Brown Supplier File Administration
16 David Dodd Supplier File Administration
17 Jason Prendergast Supplier File Administration
18 Lisa Griesel Vendor Relations beginning with the letters A-L
19 Sandy Bolson Vendor Relations beginning with the letters M-Z, #'s
20 Peggy Herling Vendor Relations Support / Wires

Disbursement Audit

wdt_ID Staff Name Disbursement Audit Roles
1 Jennifer Roltgen Associate Director
2 Kellan Sunness PO Audit-suppliers starting with A-B
3 Jennifer Nelson PO Audit-suppliers starting with C-D
4 PO Audit-suppliers starting with E-G
5 Emily Soldner PO Audit-suppliers starting with H-L, Gordon Flesch
6 PO Audit-suppliers starting with M, Voucher Uploads
7 Bryce Heth PO Audit-suppliers starting with N-R
8 PO Audit-suppliers starting with S-Z, #'s, FedEx
9 Juli Beard Audit - Direct Payments, Voucher Uploads, UPS
12 Yunlin Sun Audit - Payment to Individuals (PIR)
13 Helen Liang Audit - Voucher Entry
14 Viki Prochaska Vendor relations for Catalog Suppliers

Travel and Card

Frank Austin

Position title: Auditor II

Email: frank.austin@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 265-1122

Meghann Grove

Position title: Financial Associate Director - Travel & Card

Email: meghann.grove@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-3300

Rebecca Lin

Position title: Travel and Card Program Admin

Email: rebecca.lin@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 265-1023

Allie Watters

Position title: Expense Reimbursement Program Manager

Email: allie.watters@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-3525

Terry Wilson

Position title: Travel Manager

Email: terry.wilson@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-0956

General Information

Find Accounting Services

21 N. Park Street
Madison, WI 53715

Email Accounting Services

Email per topic/area
Accounting / Making payments /
Accounts Payable (DPs/PIRs) –  acctg@bussvc.wisc.edu
Expense Reimbursement – expensereimbursement@bussvc.wisc.edu
Purchasing Card – pcard@bussvc.wisc.edu
Travel –  uwtravel@bussvc.wisc.edu

Call Accounting Services

Phone: (608) 262-5748

Fax Accounting Services

Fax:
Controller’s Office – (608) 262-5060
Vendor Relations – (608) 265-9035